The Northern Clinical Training Network (NCTN) is based in North Queensland, and operates across the northern Queensland districts from Cairns and Hinterland Hospital and Health Service in the north, to Mackay Hospital and Health Service in the south and west to North West Hospital and Health Service.  This area also includes the Townsville Hospital and Health Service District.

There are three key network nodes from which the NCTN operate.  These are located in Cairns Hospital, The Townsville Hospital and Mackay Base Hospital.  In Townsville and Cairns the Clinical Deans, Associate Professor Sabe Sabesan and Professor Bob Jones, work within both the hospitals and James Cook University to promote the key objectives of the NCTN – to support and expand medical education, vocational training and research across the north.